Skip to content
Español
Call
Text
Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Charles Sumpter

State Farm® Insurance Agent Charles Sumpter

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Profile photo of Denise King-Miller

Denise King-Miller

March 12, 2024

5  out of  5 rating by Denise King-Miller
"Charles Sumpter is a great agent. Because of the up's and down's of the insurance business, Charles often finds himself between a rock and a hard place, and as awkward as things may get for him, he always finds a way to explain in great detail, why for example, my car insurance premium has gone up. It's never what we as clients want to hear, but Charles takes the time to explain the "why" in great detail. I have been with Charles for over 40 years and from day one he has always been honest and has worked hard on my behalf to advocate for me and my family whenever something goes wrong. Even in the worst of times, when I had to wait hours for road side assistance, when I informed Charles what I had gone through, he did everything in his power to make things right. The same goes for the few claims I have had to make. It's tuff for insurance companies in today's world, and yet Charles Sumpter is one of the most honest men I know, and he has been consistent for over 40 years in always coming through for me and my family. Thank you Charles Sumpter and State Farm. Like a good neighbor....💕"
Profile photo of Will Gibson

Will Gibson

February 10, 2024

5  out of  5 rating by Will Gibson
"I’ve been with Charles for years - wonderful service"
Profile photo of Matt Evans

Matt Evans

October 12, 2023

3  out of  5 rating by Matt Evans
"Beware of the State Farm Insurance Adjuster For years and years (well over 20 years), I have used State Farm Insurance to cover my automobiles. For the most part, they have been very responsive and reasonable in providing good coverage and service. However, in late 2022 and early 2023, everything came apart with the filing of an insurance claim with State Farm on my Tesla Model X. My car became heavily infested with mice and was considered a bio-hazard by the Tesla Service Center. Because this repair is highly unusual in nature, very few body shops in the Northern Virginia area were willing to take on this repair work. When I finally found a good body shop in Sterling, Virginia to repair the damage, the real problems of State Farm became very evident. This started with submission of photographic evidence of damage to the car. With prior claims submitted by the body shop, the State Farm Insurance Adjuster would “automatically” reduce the claim amount by 50%. This made the body shop extremely reluctant to submit photographic evidence on my claim. Additionally, there was no real way to truly document and show mice damage to my car through photographic evidence. How do you show a photo of mice pooh under the dashboard of the car – you cannot photograph this kind of damage. Another problem was the backlog of issues with other claims filed by other car owners. The backlog of issues between the State Farm Adjuster and this body shop were one-year in nature and this brought on some major delays in getting my claim processed. The Body Shop repeatedly requested elevation of issues to a supervisory level which State Farm did not respond to. Additionally, I documented the inconsistencies in the handling of my claim and requested elevation to a supervisory level. State Farm did not respond; they simply stuck to the standard operating procedures mandated by corporate that required submission of photographic evidence for processing of the claim. Therefore, I would caution anyone doing business with State Farm about the pitfalls in how State Farm works on major and unusual car damage claims. They are extremely inflexible and rigid with a corporate-type mentality that makes it incredibly difficult to execute. I eventually had to walk away from my claim because there was no way State Farm could deviate in any way from its standard corporate practices. These issues manifested over a period of one-year with other outstanding claims between the State Farm Insurance Adjuster and the Body Shop. State Farm clearly lacks a strong quality control review type process over its Adjusters and thus, your claim with State Farm can be at risk of abusive practices by the State Farm Adjuster. And the State Farms Claims Department will not deviate from whatever the Adjuster submits or says. It is considered gospel and anything that the Body Shop and / or the customer says seems to get immediately discounted. To everyone doing business with State Farm with an outstanding auto claim, this should be a big red flag. I can no longer support or recommend State Farm for auto insurance – find someone else."
Profile photo of Sabrina Scott

Sabrina Scott

August 2, 2022

5  out of  5 rating by Sabrina Scott
"I was contacted by Harry from this office when I did a search to possibly change my insurance. I honestly didn’t expect to switch to a new company but after talking with Harry - I was convinced to switch. Not just because of the great rates but personal interaction and honesty afforded to me. It wasn’t about making a sale, but truly trying to find the best fit for me and my budget. Thank you Harry - if you’re considering this company, just do it! You won’t be disappointed."
Profile photo of that guy

that guy

March 14, 2022

1  out of  5 rating by that guy
"I been with them over 30 years and 1 accident and i can find rates 100s less than what I'm paying currently."
Profile photo of Gastón Reboredo

Gastón Reboredo

December 15, 2021

5  out of  5 rating by Gastón Reboredo
"I use State Farm for both my renter's and auto insurance and I am very satisfied with my service. Any time I have a question or an issue arises, they are quick to resolve and are always very courteous and polite. Shoutout to my man Harry for all of his great work and help! Would highly recommend for all of your insurance needs."
Profile photo of Autumn Fao

Autumn Fao

July 15, 2021

5  out of  5 rating by Autumn Fao
"Great business with attentive and helpful agents who put their customers first."
Profile photo of Nick Thompson

Nick Thompson

March 24, 2021

5  out of  5 rating by Nick Thompson
"I've been a customer of this State Farm agency for around 7 years. Harry, Brenda, and many other staff members have always been responsive to my questions, or policy changes and updates. I can't say enough good things about the staff here. If you're looking for personalized service, this is the place for you. I've been a customer at other insurance companies and was just a number there. I never had an actual insurance agent until I came here. Thanks, Harry! Keep up the good work."
Profile photo of sari rin

sari rin

March 2, 2021

5  out of  5 rating by sari rin
"It really doesn’t matter who you speak to at this office. Everyone takes care of you and treat you with respect! My go to is usually Harry. He throughly explains every detail on different policies, giving me the best options and explains to me the pros and cons. I don’t think I’ve ever received such great service anywhere. Thanks to the Sumpter team! I really appreciate all of you!"
Profile photo of Donna Mejia

Donna Mejia

January 27, 2021

5  out of  5 rating by Donna Mejia
"I have been a State Farm customer for over 8 years with this office. I greatly appreciate the timely response and professionalism that I always encounter with Claudia and Brenda. I appreciate them and hope to continue using their services."
Profile photo of Brandon Butler

Brandon Butler

December 28, 2020

5  out of  5 rating by Brandon Butler
"Charles Sumpter has taken care of my entire family for over 30 years. He and his team has amazing customer service. From my first car to my first home and now children, I’ve always been able to rely of him for advice."
Profile photo of Olufolajimi Ige

Olufolajimi Ige

August 21, 2019

5  out of  5 rating by Olufolajimi Ige
"I’ve been a long time customer and have been pleased with their service and support. I’ve used them for multiple products and have had claims that were handled professionally and thoroughly."
Profile photo of Arash Massoudieh

Arash Massoudieh

February 4, 2010

1  out of  5 rating by Arash Massoudieh
"The worst insurance experience I have ever had. They dropped my insurance without even sending me a letter to notify and I didn't have car insurance for two months without knowing about it. Had to pay fine to MVA for the lapse in insurance. Avoid these folks."